Shopping Cart
Your Cart is Empty
There was an error with PayPalClick here to try again
CelebrateThank you for your business!You should be receiving an order confirmation from Paypal shortly.Exit Shopping Cart

History of Bears Softball Club

Bears Softball Club was originally founded in 1946 and is the oldest softball club in Queensland if not Australia. The club was founded by the 'Sigg Sisters'. who saw the club as a means of encouraging women and girls to participate in sport after Wold War Two. One of the founding members, now a life member, Daphne Hass O.A.M (nee Sigg) was president of Brisbane Softball Association for 17 years. Daphne is a phenomenal lady who is still involved with Bears, attending Bears events and BSA functions.

Bears Softball Club has a proud history of developing representative softball players from junior development teams through to Queensland, Australian and Olympic players. Our Olympic representatives include: Atlanta Olympians: Kim Cooper, Carolyn Crudginton, and Joyce Lester. Sydney Olympians: Sandra Allen, Simone Morrow and Natalie Shapiro. Beijing Olympians: Jodie Bowering and Kylie Cronk. Of all the players to represent Australia at the Olympics, over 20% have come from Bears.

Current Australian Representatives:

   - Chelsea Forkin (Aussie Spirit) 

Current Queensland Representatives

     - Chelsea Forkin (QLD Heat)

     - Brooke Spence (QLD Heat)


     - Stephanie Curtis (U23 Women's Team)